Understanding the Distinction Between DUI and DWI
It is common for some countries to have the very same definition when it comes to DUI or driving under the influence and DWI or driving while impaired. If you go to Texas though then this one will not be applicable. Whenever the BAC that you have is .08% or more then it is you that will be charged with aggravated DWI in Texas. If you are asking what is aggravated DWI then it is a higher offense due to some circumstances. It is an aggravated DWI that you will be charged once you will have BAC of .15% or higher, previous DWI conviction, there is an open container of alcohol in your vehicle, there is a child in your car at the time you’re pulled over for drunk driving, you cause an accident while driving drunk that resulted in serious injury or death.-what is aggravated DWI
Whenever you are wondering what is aggravated DWI and its difference between DUI then the main aspect is age. DUI is the charges that an individual will get once they are under the age of 21. For those that are over this age limit the its them that will be charged with DWI. You need to know that even with the age limit, anyone can istle be charged with DWI. This can happen especially when the individual exceeds the required BAC level and has caused serious injury or death. The charge can also be elevated to aggravated DWI depending on the circimstansces.
Another thing that you also will need to know about is what is aggravated DWI and the penalties. Once this is your first offense for a common DWI then it is considered to be a Class B misdemeanor. Due to this one, it is you that will need to pay a fine of up to $2,000. There is also a possibility for your license to be suspended for up to one year and you can have jail time of up to 180 days. Whenever the charge will be an aggravated DWI then you should know that the penalties will be heavier.-what is aggravated DWI
A serious case is what you will have once you will cause an accident that resulted in death which will be a felony charge. Once this will be your verdict then it can result in 20 years jail time and fines of up to $10,000. An accident that resulted to injury is a third-degree felony charge. Once this will be your charge then it is you that can have 10 years of jail time and fines up to $10,000.-what is aggravated DWI
Once you have been charged with either DUI, DWI or aggravated DWI then it is important that you will be seeking legal counsel right away. Whenever you are able to get the services if these experts then it is them that will help you get through the legal proceedings.-what is aggravated DWI